All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for Civic Societies

"The APPG for Civic Societies was established to represent the civic society movement in Parliament and help make the movement’s voice heard"

Laura Sandys MP (first chair of the APPG for Civic Societies)

The All Party Parliamentary Group for Civic Societies provides a forum to discuss issues related to the civic movement and provides a platform to raise these issues on the parliamentary agenda. The group is chaired by Craig Mackinlay MP (Conservative), and Vice-Chair's include Sarah Olney (Liberal-Democrat) and Yvette Cooper (Labour Party). We are supported in the House of Lords by Baroness Kay Andrews. 

Civic Voice's Director, Ian Harvey is the registered Secretary. 

You can see the APPG for Civic Societies listed on the Parliamentary website here

MPs Registered with the APPG

  1. Craig Mackinlay (Chair) South Thanet, Conservative 
  2. Yvette Cooper (Vice Chair) Pontefract, Labour 
  3. Sarah Olney (Vice Chair) Richmond Park, Liberal Democrats 
  4. Peter Bone (Vice Chair) Wellingborough, Conservative 
  5. Steve Brine (Vice Chair) Winchester, Conservative .
  6. Mark Garnier (Vice Chair) Wyre Forest, Conservative 
  7. Stephen Morgan (Vice Chair) Portsmouth, South Labour 
  8. William Wragg MP, (Vice Chair) Hazel Grove, Conservative 
  9. Baroness Kay Andrews (House of Lords) Labour 
  10. Ruth Cadbury MP, Brentford and Isleworth, Labour 
  11. Bambos Charalambous MP, Enfield, Southgate, Labour 
  12. Sir Ed Davey MP, Kingston and Surbiton, Liberal Democrats 
  13. Sir John Hayes MP, South Holland and The Deepings, Conservative .
  14. Rupa Huq MP, Ealing Central and Acton, Labour 
  15. Christian Matheson MP, City of Chester, Labour 
  16. Paul Maynard MP, Blackpool North and Cleveleys, Conservative 
  17. Karl McCartney MP, (Vice Chair) Lincoln, Conservative .
  18. Robbie Moore MP, Keighley Conservative
  19. Alec Shelbrooke MP, Wetherby, Conservative
  20. Greg Smith MP, Buckingham, Conservative 
  21. Cat Smith MP,  Lancaster and Fleetwood, Labour 
  22. Catherine West MP, Hornsey and Wood Green, Labour 
  23. James Wild MP, North West Norfolk, Conservative 


Is your MP a member of the group? Invite them to join using our template letter found here.

APPG priorities

The priorities for the coming year will be the Planning Bill and ensuring we retain and strengthen the role of communities in a future planning system. 

Registered MP Contact:
Craig Mackinlay MP, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA. Email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).

Ian Harvey, The Coffin Works, 13-15 Fleet Street, Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham, B3 1JP
Email: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

What is an APPG?

An all-party group has a membership of backbench Members of the House of Commons and/or Houses of Lords of more than one party. They have a liaison function and, when necessary, can exert pressure on a Minister to modify policy or influence legislation and further action in particular areas.

All-party groups draw attention to certain aspects of public affairs and assist in keeping the Government informed of parliamentary opinion, and may act as pressure-groups to promote a specific cause. An approved list of registered all-party groups was established by the House on 31 October 1984. 


Click on the links below to see reports for some of our past events.

APPG for Civic Societies: 100 years on: Recruting a new frontline - 19/04/2016

APPG for Civic Societies and APPG on Local Democracy: Is the Planning System Working? - 07/06/2016

APPG for Civic Societies: Will the Housing White Paper deliver the homes the country needs? - 21/02/2017